Vivaldi opera quinta
Vivaldi Opera quinta
October 12, 2012
Magic of Sound
Magic of Sound
March 11, 2012


DVD and CD. Released on Sep 1st 2010. Presentation concerts: on Sep 16th, 2010 at 7 pm in the hall of Tartu University, on Sep 17th, 2010 at 7 pm in the hall of Estonian Academy of Music, Tallinn, and on Dec 13th, 2010 at 11 pm on the MS Fram, Antarctica (!).

Kristjan Randalu. Nach dem Anfang vom Ende / After the Beginning of the End
Der Weg weg / Path of Departure
Eine Ahnung in der Vergangenheit / A Notion in the Past
Spielchen und Rechenschaft / Little Games and Accountability
Regenbogen / Rainbow

Enter Denter
Hiirejaht / Mouse-Hunt (U Naisoo / K Randalu)
Karumõmmi unelaul / Teddy-Bear’s Lullaby (E Tamberg / K Randalu)
Pipi Pikksukk / Pippi Longstocking (Ü Vinter / K Randalu)
Nuku hällilaul / Doll’s Lullaby (P Üllaste / K Randalu)
Võilill / Dandelion (K Kikerpuu / K Randalu  Watch on YouTube
Encore: Igaühel oma klaver ja orkester / Each One’s Own Piano and Orchestra (trad / K Randalu)

Estonian folk tune. Each One’s Own Piano and Orchestra. Kristjan Randalu & Tallinn Chamber Orchestra, fragment, live, audio, 3 min 17 sec, mp3

Bonus tracks: Festival background and Artist’s message (in Estonian, English and German)

Kristjan Randalu developed the idea for Nach dem Anfang vom Ende while living in London, in 2001. During that period three movements of the work were completed: Der Weg weg, Eine Ahnung in der Vergangenheit and Regenbogen. Later he added Spielchen und Rechenschaft. The work in its entirety was premiered by Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra under the direction of Dennis Russell Davies in 2003.
In order to avoid a simplified unification of jazz and classical music, Randalu decided to exclude percussion from the score. The result is a classical orchestral arrangement in the frames of which the soloist plays according to the rules of jazz. There is no integral piano part in the score, only some points of suggestion and thematic ideas. The work revolves around improvisation within the frames of the orchestral score. Consequently, the length of the performance varies, depending greatly on the soloist and his communication with the orchestra.
The second half of the concert takes the listener on a humorous journey through witty improvisations on children’s songs from the once-popular TV program Entel-Tentel.

See also: interview with Kristjan Randalu on YouTube (in German language)

ImagetextPerformed by Kristjan Randalu (piano) & Tallinn Chamber Orchestra
Live recording from Glasperlenspiel Music Festival, July 19th, 2009, Tartu University Hall
In co-operation with Estonian Broadcasting Corporation and Tallinn Philharmonic Society
Sound engineered by Tanel Klesment
Cameramen – Maido Madisson, Mare Albri, Ivo Eggi, Silver Riibak, Jüri Tallinn
Video directing and DVD authoring by Jüri Tallinn
Photos by Hedvig Hanson, Abraham Nowitz (NY), Kristo Kivimäe, Kristjan Randalu
Graphic design by Mart Kivisild
Liner notes by Inna Kivi
Translated by Tiina Jokinen
Production and background music by Peeter Vähi

Special thanks:
Tallinn Chamber Orchestra – for the dedication and making this music come to life
Leho Karin – for supporting the project from the very beginning
Jaan Rääts, Daniel Schnyder – for invaluable advice and help
Tuhalaane village, Heli & Artur Runge, Andre Maaker, Hedvig Hanson – for providing the ideal place to create this music

PAL, 16:9, Region All
© 2010 Tallinn Philharmonic Society & Kristjan Randalu
DVD: ERP 2609
CD: ERP 3710

 Imagetext  Imagetext

Kristjan Randalu

  • born in 1978
  • the son of two classical pianists of Estonian origin
  • dubbed “a dazzling piano player” by Herbie Hancock
  • Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung: “Kristjan Randalu establishes himself as part of an elite group of specifically European jazz musicians.”
  • studies in Karlsruhe, Stuttgart, Cologne, and at the Royal Academy of Music in London
  • in 2003 moved to New York City, completed education at the Manhattan School of Music (Master of Music Degree)
  • 2005 & 2006: Henry Mancini Institute at the University of California, Los Angeles
  • performed on the two-time Grammy nominated Concord Jazz album Elevation
  • classical, jazz, and cross-over projects with the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra and the New Chamber Orchestra of Berlin
  • performances in Europe, Israel, Turkey, Canada, the USA…
  • co-operations with Alex Acuna, Jay Anderson, Quincy Jones, David Liebman, Christian McBride, Vince Mendoza, Bob Mintzer, the Modern String Quartet, Dennis Russell Davies, Maria Schneider
  • 2007: the Jazz Award of Baden-Wuerttemberg, one of the most notable Jazz awards in Germany
  • an official Steinway artist
  • performances at such venues as The 55 Bar, the Jazz Gallery, Jazz at Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall

 Imagetext  Imagetext

Tallinn Chamber Orchestra

  • founded in 1993 by conductor Tõnu Kaljuste
  • consists of outstanding musicians, who often perform as soloists and are invited to perform with various other orchestras and ensembles
  • Harry Traksmann (violin solo), Olga Voronova, Katrin Matveus, Yana Mägila, Kaidi Ugandi, Kaido Välja, Elo Tepp, Mai Rosenroth, Maiu Mägi, Martti Mägi, Kristiina Olev, Laur Eensalu, Arvo Haasma, Leho Karin (cello solo), Margus Uus, Jüri Lepp
  • co-operation with Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir
  • performances at many prestigious festivals: Bach Cantatas Festival in Milan, Bremen Music Festival, Huddersfield Festival of Contemporary Music…
  • tours to most European countries, Japan, Canada, the USA
  • guest conductors Richard Tognetti, Terje Tonnesen, Patrick Strub, Valentin Zhuk, Silvio Barbato, Samuel Wong, Risto Joost, Andres Mustonen, Paul Mägi
  • artistic directors and chief conductors  Juha Kangas (1995–96), Tõnu Kaljuste (1996–2001), Eri Klas (until 2009)
  • recordings for ECM: Te Deum and Litany (Arvo Pärt), Crystallisatio (Erkki-Sven Tüür), Neenia (Heino Eller)
  • recordings produced by ERP: Musica triste and Celestials (Maarika Järvi), De spe (René Eespere), A Chant of Bamboo (Peeter Vähi)

Media reviews

CD: Worldwide distribution by Naxos America
Distribution in Estonia by Easy-Living Music,, phone +372 51 06058

See also other recordings of Kristjan Randalu produced by ERP: Nonstop